08.06.–08.09.2024

Opening: 07.06.2024, 18h

Delving into both biographical and collective history, in the exhibition A Century, Tarik Kiswanson unearths the complexities of historical events of the last hundred years of war, destruction and regeneration and how these resonate across generations and geographies. His  practice spans media ranging from sculpture to drawing and film, and from sound and spatial interventions to poetry. Across various corpus, each work serves as a vessel that carries intricate narratives and transports traces of the past and the present.

Composed of a series of recently conceived sculptures, Kiswanson’s exhibition unfolds in separate chambers formed by two high walls that divide the main gallery of Portikus. As if freed from the constraints of gravity, the first work, which gives the exhibition its title, consists of four entangled wooden walking sticks levitating in midair. The sculpture’s construction, in which all parts are tied to each other in a complex interplay, evokes the whirlwind of historical events that inextricably link and bound one another. The canes Kiswanson included in A Century (2024) originate in a personal collection dating from the 1930s until today. Made to provide support to injured or aging bodies, these objects also hold special meaning for the artist as metaphors of ruptures and traumas of turning points in history.

As with many of Kiswanson’s sculptures, the impression of weightlessness that is conveyed contrasts with the weight of the stories the objects he works with carry within them. As if frozen in time, a black cloud of ink flows out of a British imperial fountain pen in a transparent cube of resin. The centerpiece in The Rupture (2024) is a golden Onoto pen manufactured in 1924, the same model used by King George V, Prime Minister Winston Churchill, and high-ranking British officers, who were decisive actors in the pivotal events of the last century. The solemn relic invokes, among others, the chronology of decisions resulting from the Mandate for Palestine and Transjordan Memorandum signed by Churchill in 1922. The work’s transparency counters with the blurriness of the resin work The Silence (2024) presented in the same space. Here, a blue helmet with UN lettering is floating upside down. While the owner of the headgear is unknown, it’s the founding of the United Nations in 1945 to secure international peace that immediately comes to mind. In Kiswanson’s hands, the helmet holds multiple significations and serves as an allegory for the ramifications related to the organization’s political rulings, which are also intricately linked to his family’s exile from their homeland, Palestine. Having fled Jerusalem, by way of Tripoli, Tunis, and Amman, his parents settled in Halmstad, Sweden, in 1982, where Kiswanson was born in 1986. 

Conversely, a different impetus delineates Anamnesis (2023), a metal model of a floor plan cast in a block of hazy resin, based on the artist’s and his sisters’ spatial memories of their childhood home, a small two-bedroom apartment in a social housing complex in the suburbs. Built to accommodate migrants arriving during the late 1970s, the poorly constructed high-rise building was torn down in the early 2000s. As the title underlines, the ability to recall the past informs the subject of his conception of sculpture where the question of time is key.

The understanding of objects as carriers of meaning is further highlighted in Foresight (2024), a pair of wooden chairs that appear to be intertwined: a straight-back chair by the American Japanese furniture maker George Nakashima (1905–1990) and a Tübingen chair by the German architect Adolf Gustav Schneck (1883–1971), both dating from the postwar period. Drawing on the designers’ fraught biographies, Kiswanson seeks to reflect on how times of turmoil can generate scars in the reception of their work. In the aftermath of Pearl Harbor in 1941, by order of President Franklin D. Roosevelt, United States citizens of Japanese descent were forcibly relocated and incarcerated in internment camps. Nakashima, along with his wife and daughter, was held in the newly built Minidoka War Relocation Center in the Idaho desert. Hundred kilometers away in Nazi Germany, Schneck, previously an affiliate of architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, joined the National Socialist Party. Although during the process of denazification, he was labeled a follower, Schneck played an important role in the country’s reconstruction efforts, illustrative of Germany’s inconsistent and conflicting past. While both chairs in Foresight were produced during the same time, the personal circumstances of their makers could not differ more, evoking the problematics of association and the collision between silence and violence.

While several of the works in the exhibition can be read as a timeline of selected ruptures across the last century, with Cradle (2023), Kiswanson underscores the inevitable need for reconstruction and renewal. Levitating on the wall, the sculpture takes the form of a cocoon created after the artist’s own body measurements and is a leitmotif in his practice, which alludes to notions of rootlessness and regeneration. Coated in white paint, its color attuned to the light and architectural setting, the work appears as a shelter or a refuge for rebirth. For decades, Kiswanson has given particular attention to the ways in which the movement and perception of visitors can be altered within exhibition spaces. By transforming Portikus’s gallery into a large-scale sculptural environment where different works have been meticulously placed, the artist draws on the rhythmic breaks and punctuations of poetic language to engage both the mind and body of the viewer. 

Tarik Kiswanson (b. 1986, Halmstad) is a visual artist and poet based in Paris. His work has been the subject of several solo exhibitions, most recently at Oakville Galleries (2024), Bonniers Konsthall, Stockholm (2023), Salzburger Kunstverein (2023), Museo Tamayo, Mexico City (2023), M  HKA-Museum of Contemporary Art, Antwerp (2022), Hallands Konstmuseum, Halmstad (2022) and Carré d’Art-Musée d’art contemporain, Nîmes (2021). In 2023, Kiswanson was awarded the Prix Marcel Duchamp. In October 2024, he will present a solo exhibition at The Common Guild, Glasgow.

Curated by Liberty Adrien & Carina Bukuts

Poster design: Roland Brauchli

A Century is made possible by the generous support of Hessian Ministry of Science and Research, Arts and Culture, Feith Stiftung, and Institut français Deutschland. We would like to thank carlier | gebauer, Berlin/Madrid, and Sfeir Semler Gallery, Hamburg/Beirut for their support. Additionally, we extend our gratitude to The Common Guild, Glasgow for co-producing with Portikus The Silence and The Rupture (both 2024).

08.06.–08.09.2024

Eröffnung: 07.06.2024, 18h

Anhand von Biografien und kollektiver Geschichte erforscht Tarik Kiswanson in der Ausstellung A Century die Komplexität der historischen Ereignisse der vergangenen hundert Jahre und zeigt auf, wie Krieg, Zerstörung und Wiederaufbau über Generationen und Grenzen hinweg nachhallen. Seine genreübergreifende Praxis reicht von Skulptur über Zeichnung und Film bis hin zu Sound, Rauminterventionen und Lyrik. Die Arbeiten der unterschiedlichen Werkgruppen dienen als Träger komplexer Erzählungen, die Spuren der Vergangenheit und der Gegenwart transportieren. 

Kiswansons Ausstellung besteht aus einer Reihe neu konzipierter Skulpturen, die in zwei durch hohe Wände getrennten Räumen in der Haupthalle des Portikus installiert sind. Als wäre sie von den Gesetzen der Schwerkraft befreit, besteht die Skulptur A Century (2024), die der Ausstellung ihren Titel gibt, aus vier ineinander verschlungenen, in der Luft schwebenden Gehstöcken. Ihre Komposition, deren Elemente in einem komplexen Wechselspiel ineinander greifen, erinnert an einen Strudel historischer Ereignisse, die unauflöslich miteinander verwoben sind und sich gegenseitig bedingen. Kiswanson bedient sich hier Gehstöcken, die aus seiner von den 1930er-Jahren bis in die Gegenwart reichenden Privatsammlung stammen. Gefertigt als Stütze für verletzte oder alternde Körper, haben diese Objekte für den Künstler eine besondere symbolische Bedeutung: Sie stehen für Brüche und Traumata, die an historischen Wendepunkten auftreten.

Wie bei vielen von Kiswansons Skulpturen steht die Anmutung von Schwerelosigkeit im Kontrast zum Gewicht der Geschichte, die die verwendeten Objekte in sich tragen. Wie in der Zeit eingefroren fließt eine Wolke schwarzer Tinte aus einem imperialen britischen Füllfederhalter in einen transparenten Harzkubus. Das Herzstück von The Rupture (2024) ist ein goldener Onoto-Füllfederhalter aus dem Jahr 1924 – exakt jenes Modell, das von König Georg V., Premierminister Winston Churchill und hochrangigen britischen Offizieren verwendet wurde, die maßgeblich an entscheidenden Entwicklungen des letzten Jahrhunderts beteiligt waren. Das Relikt erinnert neben vielen Verträgen auch an die Chronologie der Abkommen, die aus dem 1922 von Churchill unterzeichneten Mandat für Palästina und dem Transjordanien-Memorandum hervorgegangen sind. Die Transparenz dieses Werks steht im Kontrast zur Undurchsichtigkeit von The Silence (2024), die im selben Raum zu sehen ist. Hier schwebt ein blauer Helm mit UN-Schriftzug kopfüber in Kunstharz. Während der Besitzer der Kopfbedeckung anonym bleibt, drängt sich der Gedanke an die Gründung der Vereinten Nationen 1945 zur Sicherung des internationalen Friedens auf. Im Kontext von Kiswansons Schaffen ist der Helm eine Allegorie auf die politischen Entscheidungen jener Organisation, die zudem eng mit dem Exil seiner Familie aus ihrer Heimat Palästina verbunden sind. Nach der Flucht aus Jerusalem über Tripolis, Tunis und Amman ließen sich seine Eltern 1982 im schwedischen Halmstad nieder, wo Kiswanson 1986 geboren wurde. 

Ein anderer Impuls liegt dagegen der Arbeit Anamnesis (2023) zugrunde, für welche ein Metallmodell eines Grundrisses in einen Block aus trübem Kunstharz gegossen wurde. Das Werk beruht auf den räumlichen Erinnerungen des Künstlers und seiner Schwestern an ihr Elternhaus, eine kleine Zweizimmerwohnung in einem Sozialwohnungskomplex in der Vorstadt. Das schlecht konstruierte Hochhaus wurde in den späten 1970er Jahren als Unterkunft für Migrant*innen errichtet und Anfang der 2000er Jahre abgerissen. Wie der Titel suggeriert, ist das zentrale Thema der Skulptur die Fähigkeit, sich an Vergangenes zu erinnern, wobei das Thema der Zeit eine zentrale Rolle spielt.

Das Verständnis von Objekten als Bedeutungsträgern kommt auch in der Arbeit Foresight (2024) zum Ausdruck, einem Paar Holzstühle, die ineinander verschlungen zu sein scheinen: ein Stuhl mit gerader Rückenlehne des amerikanischen Möbeldesigners George Nakashima (1905-1990) und ein Tübinger Stuhl des deutschen Architekten Adolf Gustav Schneck (1883-1971), beide aus der Nachkriegszeit. Ausgehend von den bewegten Biografien der beiden Designer reflektiert Kiswanson, wie Zeiten des Umbruchs Narben in der Rezeption ihrer Werke hinterlassen können. Nach dem Angriff auf Pearl Harbor im Jahr 1941 wurden japanischstämmige US-Bürger*innen auf Anordnung von Präsident Franklin D. Roosevelt zwangsumgesiedelt und in Internierungslagern untergebracht. Nakashima wurde zusammen mit seiner Frau und seiner Tochter im neu errichteten Minidoka War Relocation Center in der Wüste Idahos festgehalten. Tausende Kilometer entfernt, in Nazi-Deutschland, trat Schneck, der zuvor mit dem Architekten Ludwig Mies van der Rohe befreundet gewesen war, der NSDAP bei. Bei der Entnazifizierung als Mitläufer eingestuft, spielte Schneck eine wichtige Rolle beim Wiederaufbau des Landes. Damit ist seine Biographie beispielhaft für die widersprüchliche Vergangenheit Deutschlands. Obwohl beide Stühle in Foresight zur gleichen Zeit entstanden sind, könnten die Lebensumstände ihrer Schöpfer nicht unterschiedlicher sein, was die Schwierigkeiten der Zuordnung und das Zusammenstoßen von Schweigen und Gewalt thematisiert.

Während einige Werke der Ausstellung sich wie eine Chronologie der Zäsuren des letzten Jahrhunderts lesen, unterstreicht Kiswanson mit Cradle (2023) die unausweichliche Notwendigkeit des Wiederaufbaus und der Erneuerung. Die an der Wand schwebende Skulptur hat die Form eines Kokons, der den Körpermaßen des Künstlers nachempfunden ist. Als Metapher für Entwurzelung und Regeneration ist der Kokon ein Leitmotiv seiner künstlerischen Praxis. Mit weißer Farbe überzogen, die auf das Licht und die architektonische Umgebung abgestimmt ist, wirkt die Arbeit wie ein Schutzraum oder eine Zuflucht für Neuanfänge. Seit Jahrzehnten beschäftigt sich Kiswanson mit der Frage, wie die Bewegung und Wahrnehmung der Besucher*innen in Ausstellungsräumen verändert werden kann. Indem er die Halle des Portikus in eine weitläufige skulpturale Umgebung verwandelt, in der die einzelnen Arbeiten sorgfältig inszeniert sind, nutzt der Künstler die rhythmischen Unterbrechungen und Punktierungen der Poesie, um sowohl den Geist als auch den Körper der Betrachter*innen einzubeziehen. 

Tarik Kiswanson (*1986, Halmstad) ist ein in Paris lebender Künstler und Dichter. Seine Werke wurden in zahlreichen Einzelausstellungen gezeigt, zuletzt in den Oakville Galleries (2024), der Bonniers Konsthall, Stockholm (2023), dem Salzburger Kunstverein (2023), dem Museo Tamayo, Mexico City (2023), dem M HKA-Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst, Antwerpen (2022), dem Hallands Konstmuseum, Halmstad (2022) und dem Carré d’Art-Musée d’art contemporain, Nîmes (2021). 2023 erhielt Kiswanson den Prix Marcel Duchamp. Im Oktober 2024 wird er eine Einzelausstellung bei The Common Guild in Glasgow eröffnen.

Kuratiert von Liberty Adrien & Carina Bukuts

Posterdesign: Roland Brauchli

A Century wird ermöglicht durch die großzügige Unterstützung des Hessischen Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Forschung, Kunst und Kultur, der Feith Stiftung und des Institut français Deutschland. Wir danken carlier | gebauer, Berlin/Madrid, und Sfeir Semler Gallery, Hamburg/Beirut, für ihre Unterstützung. Außerdem danken wir The Common Guild, Glasgow, für die gemeinsame Koproduktion von The Silence und The Rupture (beide 2024).