12.11.2022–12.02.2023

Opening: 11.11.2022, 18 h

Press preview: 10.11.2022, 9.30 h

Corn is one of the most important crops in the global economy. While it held a central position in Pre-Columbian mythology and was a major source of nourishment, its origin as a plant native to the Americas has been widely overlooked. Considered the origin of humanity by the Aztecs and Maya, the cultivation of corn has shaped all aspects of life for millennia, from social environments to the measurements of time. In Ximena Garrido-Lecca’s exhibition Inflorescence at Portikus, the artist explores the crop’s multilayered meanings in relation to ancient beliefs, the colonial appropriation of knowledge and wealth, and the processes of modernization.

Conceived in the fall months, the harvesting season of maize in Europe, the exhibition links traditional techniques of stacking and threshing corn in Latin America with the telecommunication infrastructures that populate today’s rural landscape. A series of sculptures made of corn plants from the fields of Hesse, are mounted with antennas and megaphones that emit radio interferences as well as Mayan myths encrypted in Morse code. Composed of maize modules, vases, and stones, a circular threshing floor is a place for gathering and regular activations for the production of the traditional Peruvian drink chicha de jora (corn beer). Regarded as the beverage of the gods by prehistoric civilizations, chicha de jora today is still a symbol of hospitality.

By enhancing ancient rituals centered around corn, systems of communication and the communal value of broadcasting, Garrido-Lecca creates a site where cultural transmissions and social exchanges can take place. Considering an exhibition space not only produces but also transmits knowledge, Portikus features a radio station over the course of the show. Radio Inflorescence is a bi-weekly program, comprising a series of commissioned podcasts, material from the sound archives from Fonoteca Nacional de México and shows developed in collaboration with the Frankfurt-based radios EOS (www.eosradio.de) and Radio X (FM 91,8 MHz).

Inflorescence reflects on the radical shifts in our relationship to the natural world, following industrial revolutions, social paradigms, and the current configuration of the information age. Both haystacks and antennas are also evocative of the rural landscape, whose abandonment by capitalism has been a continuous thread in the artist’s work.

Ximena Garrido-Lecca (b. 1980 in Lima, Peru) is an artist based in Mexico City, Mexico. Her works have been exhibited among others at the Museo Madre, Naples (2021), 34th Bienal de São Paulo (2020), Museo de Arte Contemporáneo, Lima (2019), Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires (2018), Sala de Arte Público Siqueiros (SAPS), Mexico City (2017).
Inflorescence is the artist’s first institutional solo exhibition in Germany.

Radio program at Portikus

25.11.2022 with EOS Radio (live)

02.12.2022 with Alfredo Bojorquez (podcast) and archive material from the Fonoteca Nacional de México

16.12.2022 with Radio X (live)

23.12.2022 mit Luis Alvarado (podcast) and archive material from the Fonoteca Nacional de México

06.01.2023 with EOS Radio (live)

13.01.2023 mit Nabil Yanai Salazar (podcast) and archive material from the Fonoteca Nacional de México

27.01.2023 with Radio X (live)

03.02.2023 mit Julio Lugón (podcast) and archive material from the Fonoteca Nacional de México

Curated by Liberty Adrien and Carina Bukuts

Inflorescence is generously supported by Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst, Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain, and Städelschule Portikus e.V.. Special thanks to Galerie Gisela Capitain, Cologne. Additional support is provided by Feuerlord.de

Poster Design: Iván Martínez

12.11.2022–12.02.2023

Eröffnung: 11.11.2022, 18 h

Pressevorbesichtigung: 10.11.2022, 9.30 h

Mais ist eine der wichtigsten Kulturpflanzen in der Weltwirtschaft. Während er in der präkolumbianischen Mythologie eine zentrale Rolle einnahm und eine wesentliche Nahrungsquelle darstellte, wurde sein Ursprung als in Amerika heimische Pflanze weitgehend unterschlagen. Der Anbau des Getreides, der von den Azteken und Maya als Ursprung der Menschheit angesehen wurde, hat Jahrtausende lang alle Aspekte des Lebens geprägt – von sozialen Strukturen bis zur Zeitmessung. In Ximena Garrido-Leccas Ausstellung Inflorescence im Portikus thematisiert die Künstlerin die vielschichtigen Bedeutungen des Maisanbaus in Bezug auf antike Glaubensvorstellungen, die koloniale Aneignung von Wissen und Ressourcen und die Prozesse der Modernisierung.

Konzipiert im Herbst – der Erntezeit von Mais in Europa – verbindet die Ausstellung traditionelle Techniken des Aufschichtens und Dreschens von Mais in Lateinamerika mit Telekommunikationssystemen, welche die heutigen Felder prägen. Eine Serie von Skulpturen aus Maispflanzen von hessischen Äckern ist mit Antennen und Megaphonen versehen, die Funkstörungen sowie im Morsecode verschlüsselte Maya-Mythen aussenden. Zusammengesetzt aus Maismodulen, Vasen und Steinen, dient eine kreisförmige Dreschfläche als Ort für Versammlungen und regelmäßige Aktivierungen zur Herstellung des traditionellen peruanischen Getränks Chicha de Jora (Maisbier). Von antiken Zivilisationen als Getränk der Götter angesehen, steht Chicha de Jora noch heute als Sinnbild für Gastfreundschaft.

Indem alte Rituale im Zusammenhang mit Mais und der gemeinschaftliche Wert des Sendens hervorgehoben werden, schafft Garrido-Lecca einen Ort, an dem kulturelle Übertragungen und sozialer Austausch stattfinden können. In dem Verständnis, dass ein Ausstellungsort nicht nur Wissen produziert, sondern auch über- und vermittelt, fungiert der Portikus während der Ausstellung als Radiostation. Radio Inflorescence bietet ein zweiwöchiges Programm, das eine Reihe von in Auftrag gegebenen Podcasts, Material aus dem Archiv der Fonoteca Nacional de México und Radiosendungen umfasst, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem in Frankfurt ansässigen EOS Radio (www.eosradio.de) und Radio X (FM 91,8 MHz) entwickelt wurden.

Inflorescence widmet sich den radikalen Veränderungen in unserer Beziehung zur Natur, verursacht durch industrielle Revolutionen, soziale Paradigmen und die aktuelle Konfiguration des Informationszeitalters. Sowohl die Heuhaufen als auch die Antennen verweisen auf den ländlichen Raum, dessen Vernachlässigung und Verfall durch den Kapitalismus seit vielen Jahren im Mittelpunkt der Arbeit der Künstlerin steht.

Ximena Garrido-Lecca (*1980 in Lima, Peru) ist eine in Mexiko-Stadt lebende Künstlerin. Ihre Werke wurden unter anderem im Museo Madre, Neapel (2021), 34. Bienal de São Paulo (2020), Museo de Arte Contemporáneo, Lima (2019), Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires (2018), Sala de Arte PúblicoSiqueiros (SAPS), Mexiko-Stadt (2017) ausgestellt. Inflorescence ist die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin in Deutschland.
 

Radioprogramm im Portikus

25.11.2022 mit EOS Radio (live)

02.12.2022 mit Alfredo Bojorquez (Podcast) sowie Archivmaterial der Fonoteca Nacional de México

16.12.2022 mit Radio X (live)

23.12.2022 mit Luis Alvarado (Podcast) sowie Archivmaterial der Fonoteca Nacional de México

 

06.01.2023 mit EOS Radio (live)

 

13.01.2023 mit Nabil Yanai Salazar (Podcast) sowie Archivmaterial der Fonoteca Nacional de México

 

27.01.2023 mit Radio X (live)

03.02.2023 mit Julio Lugón (Podcast) sowie Archivmaterial der Fonoteca Nacional de México

Kuratiert von Liberty Adrien und Carina Bukuts

Inflorescence wird unterstützt durch das Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst, Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain, und Städelschule Portikus e.V.. Besonderer Dank gilt der Galerie Gisela Capitain, Köln. Weitere Unterstützung erfolgt durch Feuerlord.de

Posterdesign: Iván Martínez