25.06.–25.09.2022

Open Call

 

The contemporary art institution Portikus and artist Asad Raza are searching for participants for a paid job as a ‘custodian’ in Raza’s new work, “Diversion,” which runs from 24 June to 25 September 2022 at Portikus in Frankfurt/Main.

 

We are looking for curious and communicative individuals who enjoy talking to visitors; part of the work will involve explaining scientific and narrative elements of the exhibition. They will also interact with water from the Main river. The tasks include a caretaking ritual with visitors to the gallery. Good knowledge of German and/or English is/are required.

 

Payment for the job is 12.00 EUR/h (netto) / 15.65 EUR/h (brutto) on a freelance basis and custodians are required to work from 2-4 times per week during the run of the show, for shifts of approximately 3.5 hours. Custodians will be asked to attend 4 paid training sessions with Asad Raza of 3 hours each, with various time slots to be offered between June 13–22th.

 

Group interviews and an introduction with artist Asad Raza, participating custodians and project curators will take place on May 12, 2022 (at 1pm and 4pm for one hour) at Portikus. If you are interested, please submit a short text (one paragraph) describing your motivation for participating in the project and briefly tell us about yourself in a few words. Please write to info@portikus.de

 

About Asad Raza: Asad Raza creates dialogues and rejects disciplinary boundaries in his work, which conceives of art as a metabolic, active experience. Using actions and processes such as soil-making, tennis, and horticulture, his projects create encounters within and beyond the exhibition setting. They have been realized by institutions including the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York; Kaldor Public Art Projects, Sydney; Gropius Bau, Berlin; the Serpentine Galleries, London; Metro Pictures, New York; Urbane Künste Ruhr, Essen; the Lahore Biennale; and his apartment. This is his first exhibition in Frankfurt.

 

About Portikus: Founded in 1987, Portikus is an internationally renowned institution for contemporary art in Frankfurt/Main and part of the art academy Hochschule für bildende Künste – Städelschule. The exhibitions are often the first presentation of young as well as established artists in Frankfurt or in Germany. Portikus hosted, among others, the first solo exhibitions in Germany of internationally leading artists such as Otobong Nkanga (2015), Renée Green (2002), Rirkrit Tiravanija (2001) and Mike Kelley (1992). To date, Portikus has hosted 227 exhibitions with artists from more than 50 countries. Since February 2022, Liberty Adrien and Carina Bukuts are the curators of Portikus.

25.06.–25.09.2022


Open Call

 

Die Kunsthalle Portikus und der Künstler Asad Raza suchen Teilnehmer*innen für eine bezahlte Tätigkeit als Vermittler*in in Razas neuer Arbeit “Diversion”, die vom 24. Juni bis 25. September 2022 im Portikus in Frankfurt am Main zu sehen ist.

 

Gesucht werden neugierige und kommunikative Menschen, die gerne mit Besucher*innen sprechen; ein Teil der Arbeit wird darin bestehen, wissenschaftliche und erzählerische Elemente der Ausstellung zu erklären. Die Teilnehmer*innen werden mit dem Wasser des Mains interagieren. Gute Kenntnisse der deutschen und/oder englischen Sprache benötigt.

 

Die Tätigkeit wird mit 12,00 EUR/h (netto) / 15,65 EUR/h (brutto) auf Freelance Basis vergütet. Die Teilnehmer*innen sollten während der Laufzeit der Ausstellung 2–4 Mal pro Woche in Schichten von etwa 3,5 Stunden arbeiten. Die Vermittler*innen werden gebeten, an 4 bezahlten Schulungen mit Asad Raza zu je 3 Stunden teilzunehmen, wobei verschiedene Zeitfenster zwischen dem 13. und 22. Juni angeboten werden.

 

Gruppengespräche und eine künstlerische Einführung mit Asad Raza und den Projektteilnehmer*innen finden am 31. Mai 2022 (13 Uhr und 16 Uhr für jeweils eine Stunde) im Portikus statt. Bei Interesse schreiben Sie bitte einen kurzen Text (ein Absatz), in dem Sie Ihre Motivation für die Teilnahme am Projekt beschreiben und uns in wenigen Worten etwas über sich erzählen. Bitte schreiben Sie an info@portikus.de.

 

Über Asad Raza: Asad Raza schafft Dialoge und verwirft disziplinäre Grenzen in seiner Arbeit, die Kunst als eine metabolische, aktive Erfahrung begreift. Mit Hilfe von Aktionen und Prozessen wie dem Herstellen von Erde, Tennis und Gartenbau schaffen seine Projekte Begegnungen innerhalb und außerhalb des Ausstellungsraums. Sie wurden von Institutionen wie dem Whitney Museum of American Art, New York; Kaldor Public Art Projects, Sydney; Gropius Bau, Berlin; den Serpentine Galleries, London; Metro Pictures, New York; Urbane Künste Ruhr, Essen; der Lahore Biennale und in seiner Wohnung realisiert. Dies ist seine erste Ausstellung in Frankfurt.

 

Über Portikus: Der 1987 gegründete Portikus ist eine international renommierte Institution für zeitgenössische Kunst in Frankfurt am Main und Teil der Hochschule für bildende Künste – Städelschule. Die Ausstellungen sind oft die erste Präsentation junger wie auch etablierter Künstler*innen in Frankfurt oder in Deutschland.  Im Portikus waren z.B. die ersten Einzelausstellungen von international führenden Künstler*innen wie Otobong Nkanga (2015), Renée Green (2002), Rirkrit Tiravanija (2001) und Mike Kelley (1992) in Deutschland zu sehen. Bislang wurden 227 Ausstellungen im Portikus realisiert mit Künstler*innen aus mehr als 50 Ländern. Seit Februar 2022 sind Liberty Adrien und Carina Bukuts die Kuratorinnen des Portikus.