12.03.–05.06.2022

 

Opening: Friday, March 11, 2022, 6–8 pm

 

The exhibition at Portikus is Jochen Lempert’s  (*1958) first solo show in Frankfurt. Since the 1990s, the Hamburg-based artist has been working with the medium of photography, whose premises he subtly explores and expands. In his black-and-white prints, which he presents unframed in space, multi-layered relationships emerge in a direct dialogue between culture and surprising phenomena from flora and fauna.
 

His photographs are combined with the greatest care and arranged into “constellations”–multiple precisely composed images that the artist arranges in close coordination with the respective exhibition space and will now show on different levels at Portikus. While in the entrance gallery, the photographs are placed on the walls, the lower floor space features works in four custom-made vitrines that allow a different mode of viewing.

 

The exhibition will be accompanied by a publication in close collaboration with the artist and Roma Publications in Amsterdam, distributed by Idea Books. Since the 1990s, Lempert has used the book itself as a classic medium for conveying knowledge, narration, and visual experiments. Jochen Lempert. Paare / Pairs contains, in addition to numerous photographs by the artist, an essay by Portikus Director Yasmil Raymond.
 

Curated by Yasmil Raymond with Deborah Müller

 

The exhibition is made possible by generous support from Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst, Kulturamt der Stadt Frankfurt am Main, Dr. Marschner Stiftung, and Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation. Additional support is provided by Städelschule Portikus e.V., ProjecteSD in Barcelona, and BQ in Berlin.

 

Special thanks to Rosario Aninat, Arhun Aksakal, Samuel K. Baah, Louisa Behr, Theresa Büchner, Mahmoud Tarek, Tornike Gognadze, Paul Haas, Aerin Hong, Mustafa Köyneksiz, Julian Krause, Sam Lasko, Line Lyhne, Tomás Maglione, francisco m.v., Rosa Nitzsche, Sebastian Peter, Gabriel Possamai, Deshaun Price, Sophia Scherer, Maximiliano Siñani, Hermansingh Lutchmun, Hilda Stammarnäs, Simon Shim Sutcliffe, Teodora Talhoș, Alex Thake, Ian Waelder, Ming Yuan, and Victor Zaiden.

 

Additional thanks to Liberty Adrien, Carina Bukuts, Claudia Famulok, Alexander Mayer, Mira Starke, Regine Steenbock, and Stefan Wieland. 

 

Curator Yasmil Raymond will offer tours of the exhibitions on the following dates: 04.05.2022, 18.05.2022, 01.06.2022, at 18h

 

Installation views: Diana Pfammatter

12.03.–05.06.2022

 

Eröffnung: Freitag, 11. März 2022, 18–20 Uhr

 

Die Ausstellung im Portikus ist Jochen Lemperts (*1958) erste Einzelschau in Frankfurt. Seit den 1990er Jahren arbeitet der in Hamburg lebende Künstler mit dem Medium der Fotografie, deren Prämissen er auf subtile Weise auslotet und erweitert. In seinen Schwarz-Weiß-Abzügen, die er ungerahmt im Raum präsentiert, entstehen vielschichtige Beziehungen im direkten Dialog zwischen Kultur und überraschenden Phänomenen aus Flora und Fauna.

 

Seine Fotografien werden mit größter Sorgfalt miteinander kombiniert und zu „Konstellationen“ angeordnet – mehrere präzise komponierte Bilder, die der Künstler in enger Abstimmung auf den jeweiligen Ausstellungsraum arrangiert und im Portikus auf verschiedenen Ebenen zeigen wird. Während in der Eingangsgalerie die Fotografien an den Wänden hängen, sind sie in der unteren Etage in vier maßgefertigten Vitrinen platziert, die einen gänzlich anderen Modus des Betrachtens ermöglichen.

 

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung erscheint zudem in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Künstler und Roma Publications in Amsterdam eine Publikation, erhältlich bei Idea Books. Seit den 1990er Jahren nutzt Lempert das Buch als klassisches Medium der Wissensvermittlung, der Narration und für visuelle Experimente selbst. Jochen Lempert. Paare / Pairs enthält neben zahlreichen Fotografien des Künstlers einen Essay von Yasmil Raymond, Direktorin des Portikus.


Kuratiert von Yasmil Raymond mit Deborah Müller

 

Die Ausstellung wurde dank der großzügigen Unterstützung des Hessischen Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kunst, des Kulturamtes der Stadt Frankfurt am Main, der Dr. Marschner Stiftung sowie der Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation ermöglicht. Zusätzliche Unterstützung erfolgte durch den Städelschule Portikus e.V., ProjecteSD in Barcelona und BQ in Berlin.

 

Besonderer Dank an: Rosario Aninat, Arhun Aksakal, Samuel K. Baah, Louisa Behr, Theresa Büchner, Mahmoud Tarek, Tornike Gognadze, Paul Haas, Aerin Hong, Mustafa Köyneksiz, Julian Krause, Sam Lasko, Line Lyhne, Tomás Maglione, francisco m.v., Rosa Nitzsche, Sebastian Peter, Gabriel Possamai, Deshaun Price, Sophia Scherer, Maximiliano Siñani, Hermansingh Lutchmun, Hilda Stammarnäs, Simon Shim Sutcliffe, Teodora Talhoș, Alex Thake, Ian Waelder, Ming Yuan und Victor Zaiden.

 

Zusätzlicher Dank an: Liberty Adrien, Carina Bukuts, Claudia Famulok, Alexander Mayer, Mira Starke, Regine Steenbock und Stefan Wieland. 

 

An folgenden Terminen bietet die Kuratorin Yasmil Raymond Führungen durch die Ausstellungen an: 04.05.2022, 18.05.2022, 01.06.2022, jeweils 18h

 

Ausstellungsansichten: Diana Pfammatter