28.09.–24.11.2019

Opening: 27.09.2019, 19h

Portikus is pleased to present the mouth and the truth—Norwegian-Nigerian artist Frida Orupabo’s first institutional solo show in Germany.

Frida Orupabo’s practice consists of collecting images from the media and her personal life, which she archives on Instagram (@nemiepeba) and transforms into analog collages. In her virtually accessible archive, appropriated images of colonial violence, film sequences from Afro-American media (among others, from the civil rights movement and early cinema), art, and images from Orupabo’s personal photo archive all collide, blending her private sphere with the political and public spheres and allowing a distinctively subjective perspective to emerge. In their sequencing, the archival images trace stereotyped representations of race, gender roles, sexuality, and violence, as well as privacy, autobiography, and the public in the media.

While the images are thoroughly decontextualized in Frida Orupabo’s archive, the artist recomposes and layers these found (media) images in her analog collages. Through this process of alienation, she produces new and divergent narratives that play with the meaning of specific image elements. Crops, repetitions, and manipulations all help construct scenes with figures in various bodily and emotional states. Themes such as family (especially motherhood) old age and fairy tales conjure situations such as interpersonal relationships and the varying stages of life. The exhibition the mouth and the truth at Portikus presents a new series of Orupabo’s which coalesce into an open narrative.

In The Oppositional Gaze: Black Female Spectators, feminist theorist, and activist bell hooks discussed the politics of the gaze. She emphasized the gaze as an instrument of power subject to social regimentations and its potential of opposition. Within the exhibition and the images from Orupabo’s archive, the gaze plays a role both as an instrument of political power and a tool for (potential) emancipation. Though the bodies exposed to the gaze may initially seem like vulnerable shells, they cast their own gaze back at the viewer and counteract their supposedly passive role of victimhood. The reconstructed collages thus reclaim any possible attributions that their makers may have intended and thus proclaim a perspectival shift in their approach to history and the archive.

An artist’s book will also be published to accompany the exhibition.

Frida Orupabo was born in 1986 in Sarpsborg, Norway, and lives and works in Oslo. In addition to her artistic practice, she has also trained as a sociologist. In 2019 she presented her first institutional solo exhibition at Kunstnernes Hus in Oslo. In 2018, she presented solo exhibitions at Gavin Brown's Enterprise in New York, and Galerie Nordenhake in Stockholm. Frida Orupabo also regularly collaborates with Arthur Jafa, with whom she has exhibited at the Serpentine Galleries (2017), Julia Stoschek Collection (2018), Galerie Rudolfinum (2019), and Moderna Museet (2019).

Coinciding with Norway as the Guest of Honor of the Frankfurter Buchmesse 2019, this exhibition is generously supported by NORLA, Norwegian Literature Abroad and the Royal Norwegian Embassy in Berlin.

Photos: Diana Pfammatter

28.09.–24.11.2019

Eröffnung: 27.09.2019, 19h

Mit the mouth and the truth eröffnet im Portikus die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung der norwegisch-nigerianischen Künstlerin Frida Orupabo in Deutschland.

Frida Orupabos Praxis besteht aus dem Sammeln von medialen und persönlichen Bildern, die sie auf Instagram (@nemiepeba) archiviert und in ihren analogen Collagen transformiert. In dem virtuell zugänglichen Archiv treffen Aufnahmen kolonialer Gewalt und Filmsequenzen meist afroamerikanischer Medien (unter anderem der Bürgerrechtsbewegung und des frühen Kinos) auf Kunst und Bilder aus Orupabos privater Fotosammlung, sodass sich die Grenzen zwischen Privatem, Politischem und Öffentlichem aufheben und eine subjektive Perspektive entsteht. In ihrer Aneinanderreihung stellen die Archivbilder eine stereotype Darstellung von Rasse, Geschlechterrollen, Sexualität, Gewalt, Privatsphäre, Autobiografie und Öffentlichkeit in den Medien nach.

Für das Archiv dekontextualisiert, defragmentiert und überlagert Frida Orupabo die vorgefundenen (Medien-)Bilder in ihren analogen Arbeiten. Durch diesen Prozess der Verfremdung produziert sie neue Erzählungen, welche die Bedeutung einzelner Bildelemente verändern. Ausschnitt, Wiederholung und Manipulation dienen dem Arrangement von Szenarien mit Figuren in unterschiedlichen körperlichen und emotionalen Zuständen. Themen wie Familie (insbesondere Mutterschaft), Alter und Märchen kreieren Situationen zwischenmenschlicher Beziehungen und Lebensabschnitte. Die Ausstellung the mouth and the truth im Portikus zeigt eine neue Serie von Orupabos Collagen, die sich zu einer offenen Narration zusammenfügen.

Die feministische Theoretikerin und Aktivistin bell books schreibt in The Oppositional Gaze – Black Female Spectators von der Politik des Blicks. Sie stellt ihn als Machtinstrument dar, das einerseits gesellschaftlichen Reglementierungen unterworfen ist und andererseits auch das Potenzial zur Opposition besitzt. Der Blick als machtpolitisches und emanzipatorisches Instrument spielt sowohl innerhalb der Bilder aus Orupabos Archiv als auch im Raum der Ausstellung eine Rolle. Während die dem Blick der Betrachter*innen ausgesetzten Körper anfangs als verletzbare Hülle erscheinen, wird schnell deutlich, dass sie ihn erwidern und zurückwerfen, was ihrer vermeintlich passiven Opferrolle widerspricht. So fordern die neu formierten Collagen jedwede determinierende Zuschreibung zurück und proklamieren einen Perspektivwechsel im Umgang mit Geschichte und Archiven.

Anlässlich der Ausstellung erscheint ein Künstlerbuch.

Frida Orupabo wurde 1986 in Sarpsborg, Norwegen, geboren und lebt und arbeitet in Oslo. Neben ihrer künstlerischen Praxis ist sie ausgebildete Soziologin. Vor Kurzem präsentierte sie ihre erste institutionelle Einzelschau im Kunstnernes Hus in Oslo, 2017 und 2018 eröffnete sie Ausstellungen bei Gavin Brown’s enterprise in New York und in der Galerie Nordenhake in Stockholm. Frida Orupabo verbindet eine künstlerische Kollaboration mit Arthur Jafa, mit dem sie gemeinsam in den Londoner Serpentine Galleries (2017), der Julia Stoschek Collection, Berlin (2018), der Galerie Rudolfinum in Prag (2019) und dem Moderna Museet in Stockholm (2019) ausgestellt hat.

Im Rahmen von Norwegen als Ehrengast der Frankfurter Buchmesse 2019 wird die Ausstellung durch NORLA, Norwegian Literature Abroad und die Norwegische Botschaft in Berlin ermöglicht.

Photos: Diana Pfammatter